Glen Innes, NSW, Swirling, Music, CD, MGM Music, Oct20, K7/Strut, Sun Ra Arkestra, Jazz


The planets align this October as the mighty Sun Ra Arkestra, under the direction of the maestro Marshall Allen, release their first studio album in over twenty years, Swirling. Recorded at Rittenhouse Soundworks in Philadelphia, the new recording represents the continuation of a heartfelt rebirth of the Arkestra under Allens guidance since Sun Ra left the planet in 1993, gaining new generations of followers from their regular touring across the globe. With a big band line-up featuring long-standing Arkestra members including Danny Ray Thompson (RIP), Michael Ray, Vincent Chancey, Knoel Scott, Cecil Brooks, Atakatune (RIP), Elson Nascimento and Tyler Mitchell, the album is a full-blooded celebration of Sun Ras legacy. Tracks include brand new arrangements of Arkestra staples Angels And Demons At Play, 'Satellites Are Spinning, Door Of The Cosmos and Rocket No. 9 alongside lesser known gems; the rousing blues Darkness is recorded here for the first time, resurrected from the Ra archives by Marshall Allen. Other highlights include an epic version of Seductive Fantasy (first recorded on Ras On Jupiter LP in 1979), the freeform sonic blast of Infinity / Ill Wait For You and a first ever recording of the Marshall Allen swing composition, Swirling.


1~1~ Satellites Are Spinning / Lights On A Satellite
1~2~ Seductive Fantasy
1~3~ Swirling
1~4~ Angels And Demons At Play
1~5~ Sky Is A Sea Of Darkness / Darkness
1~6~ Rocket No. 9
1~7~ Astro Black
1~8~ Infinity / I'll Wait For You
1~9~ Unmask The Batman
1~10~ Sunology
1~11~ Queer Notions
1~12~ Space Loneliness
1~13~ Door Of The Cosmos / Say


Format: CD
Artist: Sun Ra Arkestra
Release Date: 30 October 2020
Genre: Jazz
Label: K7/Strut
Distributor: MGM Music

Find a Store HERE

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

You may also like

Recently viewed